Week 7 – Project 2 Return Brief

In order to choose one word for Project 2, I mind mapped a few potential ones:

DCO1002_Digital_Workbook_P2_Suzanne_Day_100689124-1

Many of the words I chose had overlapping themes about consumerist and environmental statements….I am drawn towards making statements with this Project. I then mind mapped two of the words with the most potential…

DCO1002_Digital_Workbook_P2_Suzanne_Day_100689124-2

DCO1002_Digital_Workbook_P2_Suzanne_Day_100689124-3

…and listed the best three theme ideas for each.

DCO1002_Digital_Workbook_P2_Suzanne_Day_100689124-4

After careful consideration, I decided upon the word “FANCY” which gave me the strongest mental visuals and unity to work with (it’s much more fun and exciting when I can “see” versions of it working before creating it).

The concepts for my theme word revolve around well known consumer objects being overdressed, overdone and overpackaged, poking fun at overconsumption. There is a hint of environmental element in there as well and I aim to make the three objects as decadent, fancy and eyecatching as possible to the point of being absolutely ridiculous (too fancy!) The items also relate to transitory and trending styles and natures, similar to the world of fast fashion where objects are quickly discarded. It is up to the audience to decide whether the artwork is frippery, funny or meaningful, but I’m pretty sure it will end up being an eyeful!

DCO1002_Digital_Workbook_P2_Suzanne_Day_100689124

My favourite Photoshop inspirations are mostly collages, so I’m going to make digital collage my main technique in building the splash screens. The mood board for each of my screens will include potential styles and elements to use in the compositions.

DCO1002_Digital_Workbook_P2_Suzanne_Day_100689125

I started off sketching a tower of overwrapped macaron, but thought more about my idea and decided that bringing the macaron into a doilied and overdecorated landscape might be more fun…

005

006

007

DCO1002_Digital_Workbook_P2_Suzanne_Day_100689126

008

009

010

DCO1002_Digital_Workbook_P2_Suzanne_Day_100689127

011

012

013

Leave a Reply

